Performing Dance Company

Performing Dance Company (PDC) founded in 1978, provides a professional level performing experience for graduate and undergraduate students pursuing their degrees at the University of Utah. The Company showcases choreography from faculty and guest artists focusing on the creation of new works and the reconstruction of historical masterpieces. 

PDC performs two regular home seasons each year at the Alice Sheet Marriott Center for Dance on the University of Utah as well as several performances yearly at various local venues and tours in the United States and abroad. Performing Dance Company has frequently been selected to represent the Northwestern Region of the American College Dance Festival at that organization’s National Festivals at the Kennedy Center in Washington D.C. In 1988, the company represented the U.S. at three international dance festivals in Asia, Hong Kong, Mainland China, and Taiwan. In 1995, PDC completed a highly successful three-week tour of Australia. More recently, the Company performed in Madrid, Spain, as well as several venues in New York City including the New York City/Lincoln Center performance in Central Park, the John Ryan Theater in White Wave, as part of the d.u.m.b.o. and Cool New York Dance Festivals, and for the American Guild’s 50th Anniversary Gala Concert. In 2007, PDC performed and taught Master Classes as part of The Part des Anges Festival in Artigues, France.

In addition to the new works from faculty choreographers, the Company has performed commissioned works, as well as works from the repertory of many distinguished artists including: Andrea Miller, Johannes Wieland, Trisha Brown, Doug Varone, Molissa Fenley, Ron Brown, David Dorfman, Doug Elkins, Lar Lubovitch, David Parsons, Laura Dean, John Malashock, Deborah Hay, Sara Rudner, Tandy Beal, Della Davidson, Paul Madsen, Zeng Huanxing and Gabri Christa, among others. The Company has also performed reconstructions of historical work by Merce Cunningham, Twyla Tharp, Martha Graham, Viola Farber, Alwin Nikolais and Murray Louis, Hanya Holm, and Helen Tamiris.